Write Michigan Semi-finalists Announced

The Second Annual Contest Attracts More Entrants

And your vote counts!

by Morgan Jarema


Kent County, Mich.—Kent District Library, Capital Area District Libraries, Schuler Books & Music and Pooh’s Corner announce the semi-finalists in the second annual Write Michigan Short Story Contest. Nearly 900 Michigan writers from all over the state entered the contest – nearly double the number who entered in its inaugural year.bigstock_story_2226743


“For the second Write Michigan contest, we added a teen category and that proved to be the most successful, with nearly 400 entries,” said Heidi Nagel, KDL communications manager. “The diversity in topics and writing style is amazing. My favorite story in each category changes every time I read them.”


Winners will be chosen by public voting at www.writemichigan.org from January 8-31 for the $250 Readers’ Choice award, and by a panel of judges for the $250 Judges’ Choice and $100 Judges’ Choice Runner-up awards. Winners will be announced February 3 and honored at an awards ceremony on March 22 at 2:00 PM at KDL’s Kentwood (Richard L. Root) branch, 4950 Breton SE, Grand Rapids. Novelist Kristina Riggle will speak at the event, and write the Foreword for the 2014 Write Michigan Anthology to be published by Chapbook Press.


The semi-finalists are listed according to category:



· Ann Kammerer, “Fluffy,” East Lansing

· Anne Brandt, “Alumnae Tea,” Benton Harbor

· Connor Newton, “Enduring Youth,” Waterford

· Eric Dobson, “The Wake,” Ypsilanti

· Jourdan Rodammer, “Blind Grace,” Fennville

· Marshall King, “Terminus,” Grand Rapids

· Michael Pearson, “Lost in the So Forevers,” Hudsonville

· Oscar Bee, “By Lantern Light,” Chelsea

· Richard Fowler, “Brute Art,” Wyoming

· Robert Vander Lugt, “Mornings Like This,” Caledonia



· Ana Mohr, “Reflection,” Traverse City

· Autumn Chall, “Moving On,” Stockbridge

· Chloe Lewis, “What He Didn’t Have: A Life Told In Numbers,” Holt

· Emma Fox, “Remembering Summer,” Grand Rapids

· Grayson Powell, “Static on the Radio,” Grand Rapids

· Jackie Guzman, “Fading Sun,” Okemos

· Justin Hutchins, “The Shadows,” Caledonia

· Natalie Bradshaw, “Butterflies,” Grand Rapids

· Owen Purdue, “Troy Street,” Grand Rapids

· Wren Miller, “The Three Legged Dog,” Laingsburg



· Andrew Travis, “Tales of Ostranwhich,” Grand Rapids

· Claire Taylor, “The Truth About Sphinx,” Lansing

· Clare Wadaga, “The Seven Chairs,” Grand Rapids

· Grant Adrianse, “Sonic Blast,” Ada

· Holly Holland, “How the Dolphin Came to Be,” Dimondale

· Lilliana Appie, “Shadowland,” Ada

· Sarah Hoogstraten, “Changing Colors,” East Lansing

· Suchir Gupta, “The Silver Chalice,” Ada

· Thang Lian, “Exile,” Kentwood

· Tyler Barnes, “In Search of Buried Treasure,” Lansing


Sponsors of the 2013-14 Write Michigan contest include Aquinas College’s Contemporary Writers Series, Meijer and Wm.B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.



One thought on “Write Michigan Semi-finalists Announced

  1. I got a notice of rejection on this Write Michigan contest! I had submitted an article about my life on a farm in Grand Traverse County from Depression era to WWII.
    I had a lot of fun writing it however! Memories are great to treasure and share! Dorothy Simon-Tibbe

Comments are closed.